How can we help?

[t]How can users see and access the Google Drive documents I add to my Classes?

Follow

Q: How can users see and access the Google Drive documents I add to my Classes?

A: Depending on where and how you add a Google Drive document to your Class, the way your Students (and others with access to the Class) will see it, and be able to interact with it will differ. 

Assignments, Discussions & the Inbox

When creating or editing Assignments, Discussions and Inbox messages, teachers can attach a file from their Google drive, and select either Read Only, PDF, Comment or Collaborate.

  • Read Only: The document will open as a view-only document in Google Drive. Students can view the document, make their own copy for editing, print it, etc. Students will not have permission to edit the original document. Share settings will be updated to People at [Google Domain] with the link can view. Note: The document will be shared with other Teachers in the Class and they will be given edit access.
  • PDF: This will attach a static copy of the Google Document to your Assignment. Those with access to your class will be able to download the document as a PDF. They will not have access to the original document.

  • Comment: The document will open in Google Drive with View and Comment permissions. Students can view the document, make their own copy, and add comments, but they will not have permission to edit the original document. Share settings will be updated to People at [Google Domain] with the link can view and comment.

  • Collaborate: The document will open with Edit permissions in Google Drive. Anyone with the link in your domain can Edit the document. Share settings will be updated to People at [Google Domain] with the link can edit.

  • Handout: This option allows Students to click a simple link to create their own personal Copy of the document.  The copy will automatically be shared with Teachers in the class in Google Drive. The Handout checkbox will only appear when using the Read Only or Comment Share Modes on an Assignment or Discussion

Files Blocks

When adding Google Drive files to a File Block (Add Content Block > Files), teachers will have the option to select Read Only, PDF, Comment or Collaborate.

  • Read Only: The document will open as a view-only document in Google Drive. Students can view the document, make their own copy for editing, print it, etc. Students will not have permission to edit the original document. Share settings will be updated to People at [Google Domain] with the link can view. Note: The document will be shared with other Teachers in the Class and they will be given edit access.
  • PDF: This will attach a static copy of the Google Document to your File Block. Those with access to your class will be able to download the document as a PDF.  They will not have access to the original document.
  • Comment: The document will open in Google Drive with View and Comment permissions. Students can view the document, make their own copy, and add comments, but they will not have permission to edit the original document. Share settings will be updated to People at [Google Domain] with the link can view and comment.

  • Collaborate: The document will open with Edit privileges in Google Drive. Anyone with the link in your domain can Edit the document. The Google Drive Share settings will update to People at [Google Domain] with the link can edit. The document will be shared with other Teachers in the Class and they will have edit access as well.

Google Drive Blocks

When adding Google Drive files to a Google Drive Block (Add Content Block > Google Drive), teachers will have the option to select who will have permission to edit the document: Teachers only or Students and Teachers

  • Teachers-only: Students can view the document embedded in the Class Page, but they are not able to open or edit the document.

    Permissions for the document in Google Drive will be changed to People at [your Google Domain] with the link can view. The document will be shared with other Teachers in the Class, and they will have edit access.
  • Students and Teachers: Students and Teachers can edit the document. Students can click the pencil icon in the top-right corner of the Content Block, which will open the document in a new tab in Google Drive, with full edit permissions.

    Permissions for the document in Google Drive will be changed to People at [your Google Domain] with the link can edit.

 

Powered by Zendesk