We’ve Moved

Please update your bookmarks. Support for PowerSchool Learning has moved to the new PowerSchool Community. Visit the PowerSchool Community to find answers in our knowledge base and participate in discussions.

 

How can we help?

[d] What happens if I run a blank required csv file for a full import after data has already been imported?

Follow

Q: What happens if I include a blank CSV file in a full import after data has already been imported?

A: Depending on the file you leave blank, and the state of the data in your domain, there are a few outcomes that could occur.

What if I include a blank users.csv file in a Full Import?

If you include a blank users.csv file in your import,

  • all previously imported users with data* will be deactivated.
  • all classes will be made inactive because the owner of the class has been deactivated.
  • all imported users not flagged as containing data will be deleted.
  • all manually created users will not be affected.

*What does "with data" mean? PowerSchool Learning checks users for all of the following: a) has the user logged in? b) does the user account contain grades? c) does the user account own classes? If any of these are true, the user account is deactivated (recoverable) rather than deleted. If none of these are true, the user account is deleted (not recoverable). For more on deactivated accounts, please read this article.

Why would I want to include a blank users.csv file?

  • You may want to run a blank users.csv file if you are trying to clean up all imported accounts in your domain.

Why would I not want to include a blank users.csv file?

  • You do not want to run a blank users.csv file if you want to individually set every class that was made inactive by the blank users.csv file to active.
  • You do not want to run a blank users.csv file if you are trying to clean up manually created accounts.
  • You do not want to run a blank users.csv file if you are expecting nothing to happen to your user accounts.

*Note: If you do not want to pull your full data set every time you run an import, you *may* be interested in the Partial import method. Please see this article for more information.

 

What happens if I include a blank classes.csv file in a Full Import?

If you include a blank classes.csv file in your import,

  • all previously imported classes that have content (any content) will be unaffected.
  • all imported classes that do not have content will be deleted.
  • all manually created classes will not be affected.

Why would I want to include a blank classes.csv file?

  • You may want to run a blank classes.csv file if you are trying to clean up all imported classes in your domain.

Why would I not want to include a blank classes.csv file?

  • You do not want to run a blank classes.csv file if you are trying to clean up manually created classes.
  • You do not want to run a blank classes.csv file if you are expecting nothing to happen to your classes.

*Note: If you do not want to pull your full data set every time you run an import, you *may* be interested in the Partial import method. Please see this article for more information.

 

What happens if I include a blank roster.csv file in a Full Import?

If you include a blank roster.csv file in your import,

  • all students added to a class through the roster.csv file will be disabled/“removed”.

*Note: Depending on the Roster Settings the students may appear as if they were “removed” from the roster (if the Hide disabled students checkbox is checked within Roster Settings). Disabled students’ data is still preserved and they are still in the class however they are unable to log in. To get the students back into the roster you will just need to run the import again with the correct data in the roster.csv file.

Why would I want to include a blank roster.csv file?

  • You may want to run a blank roster.csv file if you want to disable all students added to a class through the roster.csv file.

Why would I not want to include a blank roster.csv file?

  • You do not want to run a blank roster.csv file during the school year as this will appear to most teachers that their students (added to their roster through the roster.csv file) have been removed.

Alternatively, teachers can go to Manage Class> Roster> Manage Roster> Roster Settings> uncheck Hide disabled students> Save and then all disabled users will be visible. From there teachers can re-enable disabled users (Manage> click on Enable student from Roster), if teachers are are allowed to override the import (Manage Domain> Settings> Classes tab> Allow Teachers to override imported roster check box under Class Roster section.

Powered by Zendesk