Q: Under what circumstances (if any) would a previously imported user’s password get reset by a subsequent import?
For instance, let’s say I import 100 students on day 1. On day 10, I recreate the import files with the original 100, plus an additional 50 students. The SQL scripts that I use to extract data from our back-end database and create the import CSV files auto-generates a random password each time I create the import files. Therefore, this import I’m performing on day 10 will include the original 100 users, but those users will have different passwords than they did with the original import on day 1. Will their passwords be changed during this import (whether or not they’ve logged in and/or changed their passwords)?
A: The "Allow Users to change their passwords" setting in the Manage Domain > Settings -> Users tab panel controls the behavior of the import.
- If the "Allow Users to change their password" is turned off, and the user already has a password uploaded from before, then the user's password will be overwritten. They will have to use the newly-imported password to log in.
- If the "Allow Users to change their password" is turned on, and the user already has a password uploaded from before, then the user's password will be unaffected.